Skip to main content
WVU has announced plans for on-campus classes this fall, with base tuition and fees unchanged. Visit the Return to Campus website for the latest.

Faculty and Staff

Department Faculty

  Photo Nate Sorber
Nathan Sorber, Ph.D. 
Department Chairperson 
Associate Professor,  Higher Education
Office: 602A Allen Hall 
Phone: 304-293-1781 
E-mail:  nathan.sorber@mail.wvu.edu
Johnna Bolyard 
Johnna Bolyard, Ph.D.
Associate Chairperson
Associate Professor, Mathematics Education
Office: 604P Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-4724
E-mail: johnna.bolyard@mail.wvu.edu
campbell
Matthew Campbell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Secondary Mathematics Education
Program Coordinator, Ph.D. in Education Theory and Practice
Office: 604O Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-4714
E-mail: mpcampbell@mail.wvu.edu
carver
Jeffrey Carver, Ed.D.
Associate Professor, Science Education
Director, STEM Education Initiatives
Office: 602D Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-3841
E-mail: jeffrey.carver@mail.wvu.edu
dagen
Allison Swan Dagen, Ph.D.
Professor and Coordinator, Literacy Education
Office: 604N Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-4417
E-mail: allison.swan@mail.wvu.edu
hayes
Sharon Hayes, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Elementary Education  
Office: 604I Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-4204
E-mail: sharon.hayes@mail.wvu.edu
hughes
Rodney Hughes, Ph.D.
Director of the Center for the Future of Land-Grant Education
Assistant Professor, Higher Education Administration
Office: 501E Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-1657
E-mail: rodney.hughes@mail.wvu.edu
Melissa Kelley

Melissa Kelley
Coordinator - Special Education and Masters+Certification (MAC) Programs   
Service Assistant Professor 
Office: 509G Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-7143
Email: melissa.kelley@mail.wvu.edu

lindstrom
Denise Lindstrom, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Office: 606B Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-2302
E-mail: denise.lindstrom@mail.wvu.edu
lorenze
Stephanie Morris Lorenze, Ed.D.
Clinical Associate Professor
Coordinator, Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education

Office: 606G Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-6723
E-mail: stephanie.lorenze@mail.wvu.edu
luna
Melissa Luna, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Research
Associate Professor, Science Education
Office: 606F Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-9483
E-mail: melissa.luna@mail.wvu.edu
erin mchenry-sorber
Erin McHenry-Sorber, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor   
Coordinator,  Higher Education Administration
Office: 501D Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-2090
E-mail: ecmchenrysorber@mail.wvu.edu
morewood
Aimee Morewood, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Literacy Education
Office: 608E Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-8245
E-mail: aimee.morewood@mail.wvu.edu
murray-everett
Natasha Murray-Everett, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Social Studies
Office: 604L Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-7239
E-mail: natasha.murrayeverett@mail.wvu.edu
niederhauser
Dale Niederhauser, Ph.D.
Professor
Office: 802 Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-4743
E-mail: dsniederhauser@mail.wvu.edu
Tiffany Mitchell

Tiffany Mitchell Patterson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Secondary Social Studies

Office: 604M Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-2297
E-mail:  tiffany.mitchell@mail.wvu.edu
Ann Richards

Ann Richards, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Office: Stewart Hall
Phone: 304-293-4396
Email: ann.richards@mail.wvu.edu

no photo
Beth Satterfield
Teaching Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education
Office: 604J Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-2073
E-mail: beth.satterfield@mail.wvu.edu
selmer
Sarah Selmer, Ed.D.
Associate Professor, Mathematics Education
Office: 606E Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-4423
E-mail: sarah.selmer@mail.wvu.edu
Melissa Sherfinski
Melissa Sherfinski, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Early Childhood and Elementary Education
Office: 602F Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-1588
E-mail: melissa.sherfinski@mail.wvu.edu
slocum
Audra Slocum, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, English Education
Co-director, National Writing Project @ WVU
Office: 604G Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-1288
E-mail: audra.slocum@mail.wvu.edu
stack
Sam Stack, Ph.D.  
Professor, Philosophy and History Education 

Office: 602A Allen Hall 
Phone: 304-293-2071 
E-mail:  sam.stack@mail.wvu.edu
valentine
Keri Valentine, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Mathematics Education

Office: 608F Allen Hall
Phone: 304-293-4335
E-mail: kevalentine@mail.wvu.edu

Department Staff

Marguerite Alexander
Program Assistant
602I Allen Hall
304-293-0541
marguerite.alexander@mail.wvu.edu

Lisa Barnette
Program Assistant II, WVU Five-Year Teacher Education Program
606D Allen Hall
lisa.barnette@mail.wvu.edu

Crystal Colland
Administrative Assistant Senior
602 Allen Hall
304-293-5928
crystal.harper@mail.wvu.edu

Connie Miranov
Program Assistant I
602 Allen Hall
connie.miranov@mail.wvu.edu