Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Department Faculty

stack
View Faculty Profile
Sam Stack, Ph.D.
Interim Department Chair 
Professor, Philosophy and History Education

Office: 604F Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-2071
E-mail:  sam.stack@mail.wvu.edu
barnes-rowland
View Faculty Profile
Charline Barnes-Rowland, Ed.D.
Associate Professor, Literacy Education

Office: 604C Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-8246 
E-mail: c.barnesrowland@mail.wvu.edu
no photo
View Faculty Profile
Sylvia Berryhill
Clinical Assistant Professor, Literacy Education  

Office: 607D Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-4207 
E-mail:  sylvia.berryhill@mail.wvu.edu
bernstein 
View Faculty Profile
Malayna Bernstein, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor, Qualitative Methods & English Education
Co-Director, National Writing Project @WVU 

Office: 604O Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-3202 
E-mail:  malayna.bernstein@mail.wvu.edu
bolyard 
View Faculty Profile
Johnna Bolyard, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Mathematics Education            

Office: 604D Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-4724 
E-mail: johnna.bolyard@mail.wvu.edu
campbell 
View Faculty Profile
Matthew Campbell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Secondary Mathematics Education  

Office: 604K Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-4714 
E-mail: mpcampbell@mail.wvu.edu

carver 
View Faculty Profile
Jeffrey Carver, Ed.D.
Associate Professor, Science Education 
Director, STEM Education Initiatives

Office: 609E Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-3841 
E-mail:  jeffrey.carver@mail.wvu.edu
dagen 
View Faculty Profile
Allison Swan Dagen, Ph.D.
AssociateProfessor, Literacy Education

Office: 604N Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-4417
E-mail:  allison.swan@mail.wvu.edu
hayes 
View Faculty Profile
Sharon Hayes, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Elementary Education 
Program Coordinator, Ed.D. in Curriculum & Instruction Program
Office: 602E Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-4204 
E-mail: sharon.hayes@mail.wvu.edu
hazi 
View Faculty Profile
Helen Hazi, Ph.D.
Professor, Educational Leadership Studies

Office: 608G Allen hall
Phone: (304) 293-1885 
E-mail:  helen.hazi@mail.wvu.edu
hughes            
View Faculty Profile
Rodney Hughes
Assistant Professor, Higher Education Administration

Office: 608B Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-1657            
E-mail: rodney.hughes@mail.wvu.edu
lindstrom 
View Faculty Profile
Denise Lindstrom
Assistant Professor
Program Coordinator, Master of Arts & Certification (MAC) Program

Office: 602 Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-3221 
E-mail:  denise.lindstrom@mail.wvu.edu
lorenze 
View Faculty Profile
Stephanie Morris Lorenze, Ed.D.
Assistant Department Chair and Clinical Associate Professor
Program Coordinator, Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education

Office: 606G Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-6723 
E-mail:  stephanie.lorenze@mail.wvu.edu
luna 
View Faculty Profile
Melissa Luna, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Science Education

Office: 604E Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-9483 
E-mail:  melissa.luna@mail.wvu.edu
martucci 
View Faculty Profile
Ashley Atkins Martucci, Ed.D.
Teaching Associate Professor, Early Childhood and Elementary Education & Instructional Design

Office: 602I Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-4486 
E-mail:  ashley.martucci@mail.wvu.edu
mchenry-sorber 
View Faculty Profile
Erin McHenry-Sorber, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Higher Education Administration 

Office: 608F Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-2090 
E-mail:  ecmchenrysorber@mail.wvu.edu
morewood 
View Faculty Profile
Aimee Morewood, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Literacy Education

Office: 607E Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-8245
E-mail:  aimee.morewood@mail.wvu.edu
murray-everett 
View Faculty Profile
Natasha Murray-Everett
Visiting Assistant Professor

Office: Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-5703 
E-mail:  natasha.murrayeverett@mail.wvu.edu
niederhauser
View Faculty Profile
Dale Niederhauser, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor 

Office: 802 Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-4743            
E-mail:  dsniederhauser@mail.wvu.edu
rye
View Faculty Profile
James Rye, Ph.D.
Professor, Science Education   

Office: 604L Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-4416
E-mail:  jim.rye@mail.wvu.edu
no photo
View Faculty Profile
Beth Satterfield
Teaching Assistant Professor, Early Childhood Education

Office: 600A Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-2073
E-mail:  beth.satterfield@mail.wvu.edu
selmer
View Faculty Profile
Sarah Selmer, Ed.D.
Associate Professor, Mathematics Education   

Office: 604G Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-4423 
E-mail:  sarah.selmer@mail.wvu.edu
sherfinski
View Faculty Profile
Melissa Sherfinski, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Teacher Education 

Office: 602F Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-1588 
E-mail:  melissa.sherfinski@mail.wvu.edu
slocum
View Faculty Profile
Audra Slocum, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, English Education
Co-director, National Writing Project @ WVU

Office: 604G Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-1288 
E-mail:  audra.slocum@mail.wvu.edu
sorber
View Faculty Profile
Nathan Sorber, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Higher Education Administration 
Coordinator, Higher Education Administration Programs 

Office: 608A Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-5928 
E-mail:  nathan.sorber@mail.wvu.edu
stack
View Faculty Profile
Sam Stack, Ph.D.
Professor, Philosophy and History of Education
Associate Chair

Office: 604F Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-2071
E-mail:  sam.stack@mail.wvu.edu
stallings
View Faculty Profile
John Stallings, Ed.D.
Director, WVU Five-Year Teacher Education Program

Office: 606D Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-2335 
E-mail:  john.stallings@mail.wvu.edu
heiko
View Faculty Profile
Heiko Everwien ter Haseborg, Ph.D.
Teaching Assistant Professor, Curriculum and Instruction & German Language             

Office: 609A Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-7139 
E-mail:  heiko.terhaseborg@mail.wvu.edu
valentine
View Faculty Profile
Keri Valentine, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Mathematics Education

Office: 604J Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-4335 
E-mail:  kevalentine@mail.wvu.edu
waterson
View Faculty Profile
Robert A. Waterson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Social Studies Education
Director, Center for Democracy and Citizenship Education 

Office: 700 Allen Hall
Phone: (304) 293-3849 
E-mail:  robert.waterson@mail.wvu.edu

Department Staff

Lisa Barnette
Program Assistant II, WVU Five-Year Teacher Education Program
606D Allen Hall
lisa.barnette@mail.wvu.edu

Connie Miranov
Program Assistant I
602 Allen Hall
connie.miranov@mail.wvu.edu

Robin Nelson
Administrative Secretary Senior, Higher Education Administration Programs
608 Allen Hall
rnelso12@mail.wvu.edu